Posts Tagged critical thinking

Psychology, Theory, and Critical Thinking

As part of my first foray into video-blogging, I re-visit some of the basic ideas I tried to express in an earlier post titled psychology’s neglect of philosophy. In some ways this is an introduction to the philosophy of science (in the tradition of Kuhn and Popper), or more specifically, the philosophy of psychology. While […]

Aspiring to be ‘well read’ and to have ‘read widely’

I have just started the daunting task of reviewing some of the books that I have read in recent years – books that I consider to be especially insightful in one way or another (now in the ‘book list‘ section). It is no secret that writers, philosophers, scientists, and so on, have their biases – […]

Psychology’s Neglect of Philosophy

Psychology’s neglect of Philosophy It is interesting to observe that up until the 19th century, psychology was informally a branch of philosophy. Questions related to the human mind, and even the treatment of mental ailments such as existential angst and despair, were traditionally concerns of philosophy. Of course, they now fall within the domain of […]